MUMTTT 2017 Programme

The 3rd Workshop on Multi-word Units in Machine Translation and Translation Technology (MUMTTT 2017)

Under the auspices of the Special Interest Group on the Lexicon of the Association for Computational Linguistics (SIGLEX)

The  proceedings of MUMTTT2017 are now available at


Tuesday  14 November 2017

Session 1: Multi-words in Machine Translation    15:00 – 16:20
Chair: Johanna Monti

15:00 - 15:05

15.05- 15:30
Multi-word Adverbs - How well are they handled in Parsing and Machine Translation?
Martin Volk and Johannes Graën

15:30 - 15: 55
Chinese Separable Words in SMT
Gongbo Tang and Fabienne Cap

15:55 - 16:20
Out of the tailor or still in the woods? An empirical study of MWEs in MT
Fabienne Cap

Invited Talk      16:50- 17:35

Putting the Horses before the Cart: Identifying Multiword Expressions before Translation
Carlos Ramisch, Aix-Marseille University, France 
(Introduced by Johanna Monti)

Session 2: Lexical and morphological aspects in MWU representation    17:35 – 18:30
Chair: Shiva Taslimipoor

17:35 - 18:00
The Corpus Analysis of Path Elements of the Verb otići/oditi ‘leave’ in Croaian and Slovene      
Goranka Blagus Bartolec and Ivana Matas Ivanković

18:00 - 18:25
Morphology of MWU in Quechua
Maximiliano Duran

18:25 - 18:30
Closing session


Best Paper Award

The “Best Paper at the MUMTTT workshop” award will be granted by the EUROPHRAS’2017 Conference to the authors of outstanding work on multi-word unit translation. Details on the selection criteria are provided at

Invited Speaker

Carlos Ramisch, Aix-Marseille University, France

Programme Committee

Iñaki Alegria (University of the Basque Country)
Giuseppe Attardi (University of Pisa)
Philippe Blache (Aix-Marseille University)
Fabienne Cap (Uppsala University)
Matthieu Constant (Université de Lorraine)
Antoine Doucet (University of La Rochelle)
Thomas François (Université catholique de Louvain)
Philipp Koehn (Johns Hopkins University)
Valia Kordoni (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin)
Michael Oakes (University of Wolverhampton)
Carla Parra Escartín (ADAPT Centre, Dublin City University)
Pavel Pecina (Charles University)
Carlos Ramisch (Aix Marseille University)
Agata Savary (Université François Rabelais Tours)
Gerold Schneider (University of Zurich)
Max Silberztein (University of Franche-Comté, Besançon)
Kathrin Steyer (Institut für Deutsche Sprache, Mannheim)
Amalia Todirascu (University of Strasbourg)
Beata Trawinski (Institut für Deutsche Sprache, Mannheim)
Agnès Tutin (Université Grenoble Alpes)
Aline Villavicencio (Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul)
Veronika Vincze (Hungarian Academy of Sciences)
Martin Volk (University of Zurich)
Andy Way (ADAPT Centre, Dublin City University)
Mike Rosner (University of Malta)

Workshop Chairs

Gloria Corpas Pastor, Universidad de Málaga, Spain
Ruslan Mitkov, University of Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Johanna Monti, Università degli Studi di Napoli “L’Orientale”, Italy
Violeta Seretan, Université de Genève, Switzerland (Chair for contacts)